Motso The Orchestrator: From Nuthin’ to Sumthin’

It has not been very long since new rap sensation, Motso stepped into the scene but he has already wooed local and international DJs with his fresh take on Motswako and is being rated among the top names in the game.

His first mixtapes scored three radio singles, among them the hit song and video for “Ngwanyana wa Motswana”, a favourite among the ladies. His heartbreak missive, “Uzonkhumbula” featuring Peggy – the first single from his professional album – reached no 6 on the Top 20 charts of Mughana Lonene FM. He will be going on a national tour with stable mates, Wax and DJ Rowick Deep to promote the album.

“The album is a positive album, it tells my story but most of the focus is on women, who bring so much colour into our world,” explains Motso.

His music video is already playlisted on Channel O and MTV Base, but Motso really proved his international appeal after ‘Uzhunkumbula’ became a hit in parts of the predominantly French-speaking Central African region, getting on playlists as far as Equatorial Guinea and Cameroon. He was also recently featured on popular Cameroonian lifestyle show, Jambo which airs on CANAL 2, and has already received enquiries for performances and distribution there.

Motso moved from Mafikeng two years ago, against the wishes of his mother, to make a name for himself in Gauteng. He won the Hip Hop Beyonders Talent search in Mamelodi in 2009, and later got a three-album recording deal with pan-African label, Lolhiphop Records. MIO described him as a ‘youngster with music bombs’ while popular blogs, Just Curious and TVSA, have drawn hundreds of curious fans since it first introduced Motso only months ago.


  1. Letter To Motswako (Intro)
    02. Motse Wame
    03. Unzonkhumbula (Feat. Peggy)
    04. Thwantsa
    05. Ngwanyana Wa Motswana
    06. Music (Feat. Towdee)
    07. I Need You
    08. Got To Go
    09. One Step At A Time (Feat. Wax & Blackwolf)
    10. Old Skool Lover (Feat. Samantha)
    11. H.U.S.T.L.E.R.
    12. Give It To You (Feat. 2lee)
    13. Number 1 Spot
    14. Down Town
    15. Street Corner Pimpin (Feat. Christar)
    16. Move